Friday, 11 May 2018

The Dark Angel by Elly Griffiths

Dr Ruth Galloway is flattered when she receives a letter from Italian archaeologist Dr Angelo Morelli, asking for her help. He's discovered a group of bones in a tiny hilltop village but doesn't know what to make of them. It's years since Ruth has had a holiday, and even a working holiday to Italy is very welcome!
So Ruth travels to Fontana Liri, accompanied by her daughter Kate and friend Shona. In the town she finds a medieval shrine and a dark secret involving the war years and the Resistance. To her amazement she also finds Harry Nelson, who is enduring a terrible holiday at a resort nearby. But there is no time to overcome their mutual shock - the ancient bones spark a modern murder, and Ruth must discover what secrets there are in Fontana Liri that someone would kill to protect.
I think I may have said before that this is one of my favourite series. Well, I was wrong, this is absolutely my favourite and without any shadow of a doubt. Whilst there are other series that I am enjoying reading, none of them are even coming close to knocking this one off its perch. 
This is book is number ten in the Dr Ruth Galloway series and it would have been very easy for them to become somewhat similar. This is absolutely not the case  and each one has a brand new plot and provides new insights into the characters.

I have read all ten of them and have reviewed The Janus Stone (#2)Ruth's First Christmas Tree (#4.5 - a novella)Dying Fall (#5) and The Woman in Blue (#8). You can read my reviews of these super books by clicking on the title links.

Although Ruth Galloway is the main character in the books, all the other characters are well developed too. In fact, each of the books builds on what we already know of them. Despite the fact that the books are so character led it is still possible to read any of them as a standalone. Personally though, I have enjoyed watching this character development by reading them in order.

I also love the way that Ms. Griffiths describes Norfolk where the books are largely set. I have been to Norfolk a few times and her portrayal of the area really is spot on.

The next book in this series, The Stone Circle, is due to be published in the UK early next year and I can't wait.

ISBN:  978 1784296667

Publisher: Quercus

About the author:

Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway novels take for their inspiration Elly's husband, who gave up a city job to train as an archaeologist, and her aunt who lives on the Norfolk coast and who filled her niece's head with the myths and legends of that area.

She has two children and lives near Brighton.

No comments:

Post a Comment